Lucknow tops the fresh list of smart cities to be developed by 2022

NEW DELHI || The union government on Tuesday named 13 more cities that will be developed under Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s ‘Smart City Mission’. 20 cities were selected in the first round in January. PM Modi has vowed to create 100 new smart cities by 2022.

imamLucknow and Warangal topped the list of 13 winners announced by Urban Development Minister Venkaiah Naidu. The others are Dharamshala, Chandigarh, Raipur, New Town Kolkata, Bhagalpur, Panaji, Port Blair, Imphal, Ranchi, Agartala and Faridabad.

The 20 cities selected in January were Bhubaneswar, Pune, Jaipur, Surat, Kochi, Ahmedabad, Jabalpur, Visakhapatnam, Solapur, Davangere, Indore, the New Delhi area, Coimbatore, Kakinada, Belgaum, Udaipur, Guwahati, Chennai, Ludhiana and Bhopal.

The names were picked from a list of 97 cities submitted by states during a competition last year. The choices were judged on service levels, infrastructure and track record.